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Brought to you by the

Small Business Liaison

Office and the 

NW WA Region
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• Workers’ compensation insurance

• Employment standards / wage & hour rules

• Workplace health & safety

• Contractor registration

• Electrician & plumber licensing

Some (of the Many) Programs We Administer

Keep Washington Safe & Working

• Electrical permits

• Elevator permits

• Factory assembled structures

• Prevailing Wage

• Apprenticeships



Brought to you by the Asst. 

Small Business Liaison,

Andrew Bryan

(And the number five)
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1. Independent contractors versus employees

2. Verify tool

3. Adding new risk classes

4. Tips for handling claims

5. Stay at Work program

Workers’ Comp High Fives Highlights
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 Free from your direction and control

 In business for themselves

 Have all required business licenses

 Pay state & federal business taxes

 Have multiple clients

 Maintain own books/records

Your contractor may be a covered worker unless they are…

Independent Contractors

Determination on a case-by-case basis available:

(360) 902-6868 • Determinations@Lni.wa.gov 

mailto:Determinations@LNI.wa.gov
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Verify Tool: Find Rates & More

https://secure.lni.wa.gov/verify/

Find:

 Risk class

 Certificate of coverage

 Workers’ compensation rates

 Account manager contact info

https://secure.lni.wa.gov/verify/
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Verify: Account Info, Rates, Certificate
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Verify the Good, the Bad, the Ugly
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Employer

Worker
Medical 
Provider

L&I 
(Claim Manager)

Employer’s Role During a Claim

Online Claim File Access: www.Lni.wa.gov/ClaimInfo

http://www.lni.wa.gov/ClaimInfo
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Early Return to Work – Get help offering light duty 
www.Lni.wa.gov/ReturnToWorkHelp

• L&I staff will help you create a light duty job approved by doctor

Stay at Work  
www.Lni.wa.gov/StayAtWork 1-866-406-2482

• Reimbursement incentives to bring your employee back to light duty work

Preferred Worker Program  
www.Lni.wa.gov/PreferredWorker 1-800-845-2634

• Financial incentives to hire certified workers with “permanent medical restrictions” 

L&I Return to Work Program

http://www.lni.wa.gov/ReturnToWorkHelp
http://www.lni.wa.gov/StayAtWork
http://www.lni.wa.gov/PreferredWorker


Brought to you by the

Small Business Liaison,

Celia Nightingale
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1. Equal Pay Act 

2. Minimum wage

3. Overtime rules

4. Paid sick leave 

5. Isolated worker protections

Employment Standards High Fives Highlights
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Equal Pay Act

• Provide equal pay and career advancement 

opportunities without regard to gender

• Can’t mandate salary/wage secrecy

• Can’t ask for salary history from applicants

• If 15+ employees:

• New employee: must disclose minimum of 

salary range upon job offer, if asked

• Current employee: must disclose full range 

or expectation, if asked
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Washington Minimum Wage

• $13.50/hour in 2020

• Can pay 85% of MW to 14 & 15 year-olds 

• 2021 and each subsequent year        

rises by inflation rate 

• Tips & service charges in addition to 

wage

• Regional variances:

• Seattle: $13.50-$16.39

• SeaTac: $16.09 (hospitality & transportation workers)
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House Bill 1450 - Effective 1/1/2020

• Can’t restrict outside employment or self-employment unless paid more 

than 2x minimum wage

• Other than scheduling or clear conflict of interest

• Non-compete agreements

• Only allowed with employees paid $100K+ (adjusts with inflation)

• 18 months maximum

• Doesn’t affect other agreements, such as nondisclosure, 

confidentiality, nonsolicitation

• Franchisors can’t restrict their franchisees from recruiting each other’s 

employees



Washington State Department of Labor & Industries 17

• Must pay overtime unless worker’s position 

meets a specific exemption in the law

• Most common exemption – “white collar”

• Duties Test

• Executive, administrative, professional, 

outside sales, computer professionals

• Salary Test

• Paid a regular salary

• Paid at least a defined minimum salary

Overtime

1.5 x hourly wage for hours beyond 40 hours/week
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Recent Changes to Overtime Rules

• Federal minimum exempt salary increased to $35,568, effective 1/1/2020

• State minimum exempt salary will increase to 2.5 times minimum wage

• Increases gradually over period 7/1/2020–1/1/2028

• Impact begins 1/1/2021

Effective 

Date

Minimum Exempt Salary

Small Employers

(1-50 Employees)

Minimum Exempt Salary

Large Employers

(51+ Employees)

1/1/2020 $35,568 ($684/week) $35,568 ($684/week)

1/1/2021 1.5 x minimum wage

(~$43,004 or $827/wk)

1.75 x minimum wage

(~$50,180, or $965/wk)

1/1/2022 1.75 x minimum wage

(~$51,272 or $986/wk)

1.75 x minimum wage

(~$51,272 or $986/wk)
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Paid Sick Leave

• Must provide at least 1 hour of paid sick leave per 40 hours of 

work

• = .025 hours of sick leave per 1 hour of work

• Includes part-time and temporary employees

• Accrual begins immediately on hire

• Can require 90 calendar days for use

• Employees may use for self or family health, child’s school or 

daycare health-related closures, or absences related to domestic 

violence
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Paid Sick Leave – Notifications & Statements

• Must provide notification of paid sick leave at hire

• Must provide regular statements, at least monthly, including

• Amount of paid sick leave accrued 

• Amount used

• Balance remaining

• Must carry over the balance, up to 40 hours, from one year 

to the next

• Must reinstate balance at rehire, if within a year
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• Effective Jan. 1, 2020 in the following industries:

• Hotels, motels, retail, security guard services, and 

janitorial services

• Employers with isolated workers must:

• Adopt a sexual harassment policy

• Provide mandatory training

• Provide a list of resources for employees to utilize

• Provide a panic button to each employee 

• (Does not apply to contracted security guard 

companies)

Isolated Worker Protections



Brought to you by

NW WA Risk Consultant,

Walt Kulpa
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1. Division of Occupational Safety & Health (DOSH)

2. Accident Prevention Program (APP)

3. Consultation services 

4. Scams 

5. Customer service

Safety & Health/Resources Highlights
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What’s Wrong With This Picture?
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What’s Wrong With This Picture?
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Division of Occupational Safety & Health 

(DOSH)

 Developing safety and health rules

 Offering free training, safety and health programs, and other 

resources to help prevent, find, and fix hazards

 Providing no-fee on-site consultations to help employers 

create safe and healthy workplaces

 Enforcing rules by inspecting worksites for unsafe working 

conditions

 Investigating safety discrimination complaints & serious 

incidents

WISHA (WA Industrial Safety & Health Act) gives L&I the following responsibilities to  

oversee workplace safety and health in Washington:

www.Lni.wa.gov/Safety

http://www.lni.wa.gov/Safety
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Employers are required to have an Accident Prevention Program that is:

 Customized for the business

 Written and kept up-to-date

 Communicated to employees at hire and through regular meetings

 Actively practiced

See L&I’s website for:

• Sample programs

• Tips on identifying hazards

• Resources for safety meetings

APP – Accident Prevention Program
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Consultation is a proactive approach to prevent workplace injuries.

Consultants help employers understand and comply with workplace safety 

and health rules, protect employees, and lower workers’ comp costs. 

Four no-fee and confidential consultation services 

available:

1. Safety

2. Industrial Hygiene

3. Ergonomics

4. Risk Management

DOSH Consultation
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Call or schedule a consultation online

 NW Washington 425-290-1369

 King County 206-835-1065

 Pierce County/Olympic Peninsula 

253-596-3917

 Southwest Washington   360-575-6951

 Central/Eastern Washington  509-886-6570

www.Lni.wa.gov/Safety/ConsultationMore info:

http://www.lni.wa.gov/Safety/Consultation
http://www.lni.wa.gov/Safety/Consultation
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State of Washington Workplace Posters

• Free from each issuing state or federal agency

• Private companies posing as state/federal 

agencies

Certificate of Status Request Form

• Targets newly registered businesses

• Secretary of State

Report misleading advertisements WA State Office of 

the Attorney General

Scams to Watch Out For
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Assist you:

 WA Business License 

Application

 Contractor Registration 

 Permits: electrical, food 

trucks, etc.

 Anything L&I 

Front Counter at 19 Regional Offices

Customer Service: No Wrong Door

www.Lni.wa.gov/OfficesOffice locations:

http://www.lni.wa.gov/Offices
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Online Resources & Transactions

• Electrical licenses or permits 

• Certifications: plumber, trainee cards, installers

• Claim filing & status

• Workers’ comp payment

• Contractors & businesses information

• Many more Web customer support

Office hours: 8 am - 5 pm

Phone: (360) 902-5999

WebSupport@lni.wa.gov

Available 24/7

Customer Service Options

www.Lni.wa.gov

mailto:WebSupport@lni.wa.gov
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
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• L&I Essentials for Business

• Other training topics

 Safety & Health

 Workers’ Compensation

 Construction Contractor

• Receive Training Calendar:

• www.TrainingCalendar.lni.wa.gov

www.lni.wa.gov/Workshops

L&I Workshop & Training Center

Website:

http://www.lni.wa.gov/Workshops

